Click Away
Go Fug Yourself
Dooce
Sac Rag
Ladies Choice
I Don't Like You In That Way
The Superficial
Anonymous Lawyer
Mimi Smartypants

Contact Me
plumwin at gmail dot com


previous | next

2005-09-26

flymetothemoon at 18:14



Note to reader: The following is totally random and has no flow.

After Katrina, the husband and I wanted to do something to help. With a mortgage and student loans, a sizeable donation didn�t seem feasible. What can we do to help? Can we take in a family? Uh, no. Not in our tiny house. Plus, we�re at work all day, would they trash the place? But wait, we could foster a dog. Perfect. We already have a dog and she�d love to have a friend. We�re all set up for a dog and it would be a nice thing to do. We would hope someone would do it for us if we were separated from the Dingo. So I registered with the ASPCA. I filled out forms. I gave them all my contact info as well as my qualifications. I kept reading stories that they were looking for people to shelter these dogs and thought, �Why don�t they just call us?� Finally, about two weeks ago, they called one evening asking if I would be willing to take six bunnies for an indefinite amount of time. Bunnies? How did I get on the bunny list? I kindly said no, we can�t do bunnies but I�d be happy to take a dog. She said they�d call me back. No word yet. I think it sucks that they haven�t called and some poor dog is sitting in a cage somewhere not receiving the love it deserves. Plus, I think this is a great example of how these organizations operate. They want money, plain and simple. The whole thing just makes me mad.

I saw this headline on CNN this morning and thought they meant Beverly D'Angelo from the Chevy Chase vacation movies! My god, I'm getting old. I so can't keep up with the hipsters.

This is a corpse any way you slice it.

I can't stand the new tv season but I did sort of like the new Fox show "Head Cases" and thought it had potential. I mean a straight laced white lawyer and a crazy, maniac Jew? How could that not be funny? Apparently it was the first show to be cut. Damn, I've got good taste.

And lastly for today, my airline story! Finally. RonTopofit wrote a great bit on the SacRag a few weeks back and I meant to comment.

I found a loophole in the whole flying in and out of Sacramento disaster. First class, baby! I flew coach on my way out and had a miserable experience. I bumped up to first class on my way home and had a grand old time. I sat next to a nice, tidy gentleman and had a wonderful conversation. I wasn�t wedged between two fat people trying to breathe. The best part though? Sitting there in the first row (Yes, Row 1!) and watching the cattle all wait in line to board while I calmly sipped my merlot. It�s well worth it.

Ok, my brain is mush. I will finish this tomorrow. And yes, you know who, I will get to the google ad link point. Don't hassle me.

{6} Comments

latest entry | archives | diaryland