Click Away
Go Fug Yourself
Dooce
Sac Rag
Ladies Choice
I Don't Like You In That Way
The Superficial
Anonymous Lawyer
Mimi Smartypants

Contact Me
plumwin at gmail dot com


previous | next

2004-12-22

Rent a car! at 10:59 a.m.

Aruba was great. Such a bummer to be back. But all good things must come to an end. The island getaway involved a balmy 88 degrees everyday with the kind of humidity that makes me have an instant afro. Thank god for the great Gap beach hats that I had stocked up on this summer.

The only real crazy thing about Aruba was the surly locals. Their whole goal in life is to move the tourist on to the next person and not take responsibility for anything. It was so strange. You�d ask someone a question (and I mean someone you should be asking, like a concierge, not someone on the street) and she would stare blankly back and tell you to ask someone else. It became an ongoing joke to just �Go rent a car!� as the car rental kiosk was next to the concierge and everytime we asked her where something was or how to get somewhere she would say �Go rent a car!� even though that wasn�t the best solution. There was buses and cabs that could get you places far easier. They are also a very lazy breed let me tell you. Things happen in slow motion on an island like Aruba and I was told more than once to �be more patient� or �wait and see if it happens� in regards to my requests for things. You�d be beaten if you tried that crap here. I�d love to tell my boss �Be more patient. I�ll proof that copy when I get around to it. Now step away from my desk.� Can you even imagine?

Now that we�re back its Christmas week but we�re so out of it that we�re not really participating. It was too late to get a tree or really decorate and we don�t have kids so we are scrooges I guess.

Today is the company Christmas party. It�s a lunch thing. I dread it and will pretend to participate for the allotted 10 minutes before taking off. We get the rest of the day off so at least that�s a plus.

Slow news day , oh yes it is! .


This is a must have product!

What are people thinking?

{0} Comments

latest entry | archives | diaryland