Click Away
Go Fug Yourself
Dooce
Sac Rag
Ladies Choice
I Don't Like You In That Way
The Superficial
Anonymous Lawyer
Mimi Smartypants

Contact Me
plumwin at gmail dot com


previous | next

2005-02-19

Airport evy at 8:39 a.m.

I should be in Vegas but alas, I am still at home. What a long, strange non-trip that was. Flight at 1:30 yesterday. Arrive at 11:30 like a good girl, check in and go through security hell. Once at the gate, I'm told that the flight won't leave til 3pm. And they're overbooked and asking for people to get off the flight for $200. I'm flying first class (a mistake on their end, yippee!) so I'm not changing my flight. Then they say 3:15, then 3:30...you get the picture. I call my mom in Vegas. It's pouring, no flights are coming or going. Her office is literally across from the airport. She knows these things. My new flight time is 4pm. I'm bored. I've bought a book, read my new People magazine, gawked at the freaks sitting next to me. My mom calls back. "Your flight is canceled" she says. Huh? I go up to the front (with my mom still on the phone) and ask the ticket agent. He says no, it's leaving at 4:30. She says their website says my flight is cancelled. He insists it's not. They're still overbooked. They up the ante to $600 and a first class ticket for Saturday morning. I ponder for a second and take it. He gives me my $600, thanking me profusely. For what I think? He actually goes to far as telling the idiot flying standby that he gets my seat. In first class. This poor shmuck pats me on the shoulder and says thanks like I'm doing a good deed. I sign my name on the voucher and voila! the sign says cancelled. Ha! I win! I win! So now nobody is flying to Vegas but I've got $600! The amusing thing is that everyone sitting around had laptops except for me and yet not one person thought to look at the airline website and see what was going on? Thanks mom for the insider information. Needless to say, I fly out in a few hours.


One more tidbit about the airport experience. The ticket agent needed about 20 minutes to get my checked bag back for me so he gave me a voucher to go eat something. Have you ever gotten one of these? Basically they check a box (breakfast, lunch, dinner) and it has a little dollar amount that is larger as the day goes on. You get like $3 for breakfast but then $9.50 for dinner. Since it was after 3pm, I get the dinner box checked. I was medium hungry and Burger King was the only place without a line so I went there. I ordered a small cheeseburger, small fries, and a medium drink. Total: $4.19. The problem? The poor cashier (who is probably working at the airport Burger King to put her kids through college) couldn't understand how I wasn't going to use the whole $9.50. "You want dessert?" she asked. No. "More fries?" No. She then launched into a long explanation as to why she wouldn't be able to give me the change back in cash. I know. I understand. Just give me my food and I'll go away. She really couldn't comprehend that I would just throw money away. What did she think? That I should buy an extra bag of food and go out into the waiting area and give it to some poor sap? She gave me the look that only people some people can give, shoved my food in my hands, and mumbled something in spanish to the other cashier that I'm sure was "stupid, spoiled white girl there just threw away $5 instead of getting an imitation ice cream shake. Bitch."

{0} Comments

latest entry | archives | diaryland