Click Away
Go Fug Yourself
Dooce
Sac Rag
Ladies Choice
I Don't Like You In That Way
The Superficial
Anonymous Lawyer
Mimi Smartypants

Contact Me
plumwin at gmail dot com


previous | next

12.25.05

Marcia! Marcia!Marcia! at 10:13 am




Somehow in the midst of wrapping, baking, and doing other Christmas Eve type activities yesterday, I stumbled upon My Fair Brady. Of course VH1 was doing one of those marathon sessions that suck you in and somehow you�re hooked on the most inane program ever invented but you can�t stop watching. I watched four back-to-back episodes and could feel the brain cells leaking out of my head as I sat on the couch in a stupor. Thankfully my husband came in at the end and gently reminded me that if I didn�t get out fast, I might be stuck there all night.


I�ve watched my share of bad television but this was the most amazing train wreck I�ve seen in a long time. I know VH1 has a reputation for bad reality TV, but this was unbelievable. The premise? A 22 year old, uneducated, hillbilly model (yes, she has a name but completely inconsequential) is in a relationship with 47-year-old, fat, puffy, anal-retentive Peter Brady. Yes, he has a real name too but you can�t get past the Peter Brady thing. They have nothing in common and there is no reason for them to be in any type of relationship. Unfortunately, watching them is quite compelling. She has the unfortunate habit of speaking without thinking. A conversation between the two of them at a near empty bar with the bartender and a few patrons within earshot:


Her: I�m starting my period tomorrow so we need to have sex today or we�ll have to wait five days.

Him: Um, do we need to talk about this right now?

Her: Come on, let�s just go in the bathroom and have a quickie.

Him: I don�t like quickies.

Her: You're so old!

Carol Brady would be proud!

Side note: You�d think Florence Henderson would have steered clear of this but she actually is shown in a few of the episodes giving him relationship advice. It�s creepy.

The other interesting aspect of the show is that while Brady doesn�t seem to have a job or that much money, he tools around in a stretch limo everywhere. Trip to McDonalds? In the limo. He even goes to meet her father in some tiny town in Illinois and the father takes him on a semi-bonding Bass fishing expedition. What do they take out to the swamp? You guessed it. The limo.

I�ve banned myself from watching any more episodes today but am thinking of going online and just reading the episode guides. I know I probably shouldn�t but�

Merry Christmas!

{2} Comments

latest entry | archives | diaryland