Click Away
Go Fug Yourself
Dooce
Sac Rag
Ladies Choice
I Don't Like You In That Way
The Superficial
Anonymous Lawyer
Mimi Smartypants

Contact Me
plumwin at gmail dot com


previous | next

04.12.06

Kiss My Grits at 11:18 am




Few places in Sacramento have the ability to entertain me as much as this place did on my recent visit. A gem among gems and if you haven�t tried it, please do. I have no idea if people that have lived here longer than me know about this place and if so, I apologize for making such a big deal about it. I must preface my rave with the fact that I have never been to a truck stop nor have I ever thought about it as an option so I had no idea what to expect. The 49er Travel Plaza is a feast for the eyes and the palate. The entryway provides a mini-mart and a full gift shop including every type of figurine and statue and Simpsons memorabilia you could ever desire. There is also a large jewelry case in case you need to pick up a gift for the wife while you�re out on the road. One whole wall is covered with pictures of truckers with their pets who ride with them. There is an area for Sunday church services. All of this greets you before you even get to The Silver Skillet. The restaurant is like a large version of Mel�s Diner (Hey Flo!) with cracked plastic seats and gum chewing waitresses. One waitress even had a nametag that declared her �Big Mama�. The food is typical American but you can get breakfast, lunch, or dinner any time of day. The clientele is truckers, families, senior citizens but also (surprisingly) other �suits� like us so I think this place is getting some of the business from all the development out in Natomas. If you�re ever hunkering for some chili cheese fries, a stack of pancakes, and some beer battered shrimp, give the 49er plaza a shot. Oh, you can also get your car washed, gas up, put air in your tires, and have an oil change while you eat. Just a tip.

For directions and full menu, Click Here!

{1} Comments

04.04.06

go pokes, slow pokes at 10:53 am

I abhor any and all types of adornments on vehicles. This includes, but is not limited to, vanity plates, catchy license plate frames, tree air fresheners hung on the rear-view mirror, Jesus fish, bumper stickers, and any type of ribbon declaring anything. I don�t know why these displays bother me so much but they do. I don�t care whether your child was the spelling bee champion or that your car smells like strawberry inside or that you support the Police Athletic League. Tell someone who cares. I've said this before. I also believe that if you do advertise on your car, I have the right to take a picture and make fun of you. Hey, you put yourself out there to the rest of us on the road so deal with it. Today�s pick:



Sheesh.


Are you really that into Oklahoma State athletics? We are in California you know. I�m hoping that this person�s child plays for the team, which at least would explain the need to pay extra for this plate to some extent.

{1} Comments

03.28.06

Sacramento Welcomes Mike Tyson at 11:20 am

Why does Naj Alikhan have a blog and why did I just read it? Moving on..

The misfits found in Sacramento continue to amaze me even after all these years of being a transplant. One only has to quickly scan the news or the paper to get a chuckle out of something going on around here. Every morning Mr. Plumwin and I glance through the Bee and have the news on and one of us yells out the dumbest story of the day within the first minute. It reminds me of Name That Tune. I think we should make a contest of it and see who can grab the most inane headline first.

Today's Winner:

A fight that broke out on the side of Interstate 5 ended in one man losing part of an ear and another man arrested Sunday.
Donald Reveles, 44, of Yolo, was arrested on suspicion of aggravated mayhem, force likely to cause great bodily injury and battery with serious bodily injury after getting into a fight at about 2:30 a.m. Sunday, according to a Yolo County Sheriff's Department news release.
Reveles was in a vehicle traveling along southbound I-5, toward Yolo County, when the car stopped to let out one of the occupants. Reveles also got out of the vehicle and the two started fighting, the release states.
Reveles allegedly bit off the upper third of the victim's ear and bit down onto the man's left ring and pinky fingers. While his teeth were clamped on the man's hand, Reveles allegedly began punching the man in the face, the release states.
The men eventually stopped fighting and got into the back seat of the vehicle, and Reveles stabbed the man twice in the neck with a pencil, the release states.
The man with the injured ear was taken to UC Davis Medical Center.
Reveles was booked into the Monroe Detention Center and bail was set.

There are so many problems with this story that I couldn�t even begin to dissect it. Why did the car stop on the side of the road? Why did this guy get out and start biting ears�the list goes on and on.

{1} Comments

03.24.06

the bee is terrorized at 3:57 pm

I know. I know. Three posts in one day is excessive but I couldn't let this go. The Sacramento Bee was sent a letter containing suspicious white powder this mornng. Who knew? I have my own basic concept of someone who just wanted a Friday off from work but who cares what I think, right? Two things from the article stood out as funny though:

Fire Battalion Chief Niko King said the woman who found the envelope had no immediate symptoms of contamination. A Bee nurse stationed at the building performed a medical assessment on the employee, King said.


The Bee has on staff nurses? So cool. So you can like get a band aid if you cut yourself on the press?


The substance, double-bagged, will be sent to a forensic lab for further review, he said.


Thanks for letting us know it will be double-bagged. Huge relief. You know ziploc has those new bags with two zip strips right on one bag? Just a thought.

{1} Comments

03.24.06

Walgreens Madness at 3:19 pm

I needed a few drug type items on my home this afternoon and decided to stop at Walgreens. I have come to despise both Rite Aid and Longs and thought that I could go the opposite way home and swing by the Walgreens on Stockton and Broadway. What an experience! I walked around for at least fifteen minutes staring at the signage, as the layout just did not make any sense. It was like that specific location (go figure) was designed around one type of customer and that customer wasn�t me. Now don�t get me wrong, if you want cheap beer, band aids, Aleve, cashews, and some nifty flip flops, they can all be found in one location! But if you are a normal shopper, shampoo and conditioner are halfway across the store from one another. I don�t it. I do want to give a big shout out to the high school age employee who was running the show this afternoon. He single handedly greeted every single customer who walked in with a hearty shout (Welcome to Walgreens!) while answering the phone (Thank you for calling Walgreens on the corner of Stockton and Broadway, how can I assist you today?) and checking out customers. I�m also a sucker for a high school guy who cards me for beer. Although I certainly don't own the phrase he gets my Right Awn! for the week.

{0} Comments

03.24.06

german treat for sunday! at 10:33 am

If you're looking for something to kill off a couple hundred brain cells this weekend, it could be as easy as this. Even though this is all for a good cause, I have to give props to the guy who thought of this nice twist on his pledge. I for one will relish my hour of '99 Luftballoons'. Maybe next year I can get myself an hour of Sophie B. Hawkins.

{0} Comments

latest entry | archives | diaryland