Click Away
Go Fug Yourself
Dooce
Sac Rag
Ladies Choice
I Don't Like You In That Way
The Superficial
Anonymous Lawyer
Mimi Smartypants

Contact Me
plumwin at gmail dot com


previous | next

01.13.06

Sacramento Folks at 8:09 am

The good and the bad of Sacramento:


Throw away: Tim Onderko was driving near Fulton and Marconi when he saw garbage flying from a Dodge Dakota truck. "I thought to myself, Sacramento's such a great place to live, why would anyone intentionally litter here?" he said. Tim pulled alongside and shouted at the woman driver. "Garbage is falling out of your truck. It's falling on the ground," he said. The woman responded, "Who are you?" Said Tim, "I'm a proud citizen who likes to keep the streets clean." The woman responded, "I'm a citizen, too, and I can do whatever I want." Which proves some motorists are beyond shame.


-from Graswich

{4} Comments

01.12.06

shrimp...incoming at 1:13 pm

Does anything better represent our justice system than this? Court TV better bring this live like the OJ trial because I couldn�t imagine missing a moment of it. The headline made me think he was allergic to shellfish which I could get past but when I read the �wrenched his neck when he ducked to avoid the shrimp� part of the story, I was riveted.

{1} Comments

01.12.06

Grocery - a memory at 10:38 am

Like Frey or LeRoy, I take liberty with the following account of what happened at the grocery store last night. This is exactly how I remember the events taking place and I haven�t exaggerated any of the story but I was pretty hopped up from my afternoon wheat thin binge at the office.

I won�t pretend to even grasp the slang like HeyMeg but this is what occurred at my favorite Albertsons last night. I stopped to grab some bread crumbs. I figured, one item, how bad could it be? The only people in the aisle were too rather large women, one wearing some type of tent dress and the other wearing red sweats, red/green striped top, and a Santa hat (Christmas is over already!). As I reached for the bread crumbs, one of the women said �Hey, she best not be grabbin the last uh the crumbs, man.� The other replied, �Don�t worry, what she be doin wit bread crumbs anyway? She dun not look like she be goin anywhere to fry chicken.� I knew they were talking about me and couldn�t figure out whether to be scared (theses were some big girls) or literally fall down in the aisle and laugh my ass off which would probably have led to me getting beat down too. So I calmly took my purchase and started to move away from them. As I was just about out of earshot, one of them said, �Yeah, she dun know what�s good for her. Stupid bitch knew not to take the last of them bread crumbs.�

{3} Comments

01.12.06

Get Ready - Test at 9:45 am



This is a test with an obsessive grocery link from some time ago. Get caught up so I can tell my tale of last night's trip back.

{1} Comments

01.08.06

don't believe the hype at 12:07 pm






I wasn�t going to even comment on the movie I saw this weekend until I read how well it did at the box office and was so stunned it begged me to think more.

Mr. Plumwin and I have a deal where we trade off on who gets to pick the movies we see. Netflix picks are a free for all but since we rarely see a movie in the theatre, we try to trade back and forth. I am notorious for picking bad ones but this weekend I tried my best.

After reading a few reviews like this one,I figured I couldn�t go wrong with a violent, gory horror flick. They are so hard to come by these days as our generation is desensitized by pretty much everything. Partner that with the fact that we�ve already seen every special effect imaginable, there isn�t much one could put out there that would really scare us. I also admit that news reports last week of people actually fainting at the initial screenings piqued my interest as well. So we headed off to the Century Theatre for an afternoon of terror. [Side note: As we backed out of the driveway, Mr.Plumwin said �the one where those people got robbed right?� Not that he cared, just how he refers to that theatre now]

Stop reading now if you intend to see this movie: SPOILER ALERT as CNN always says.

Don�t believe the hype. This movie was bordering on comedy. The first 45 minutes involve watching a bunch of stupid college students get drunk and have sex with various women they meet in different countries while they backpack through Europe. No one is attractive and instead of being even mildly titillating, it is cringe worthy at best. When the actual gore starts being thrown at you, you don�t care anymore. The horror scenes are so over the top that they lose all value. The special effects are corny and you know what�s coming next way before it does. I�ve been more grossed out watching the butcher at Cortis cut a side of meat than I was watching this movie.

The only saving grace of this whole experience was that it was only about an hour and half long. And the best quote of the day I heard as soon as the credits starting rolling came from the guys sitting behind us who said, �I hope Tarantino is going to refund our money.�

{6} Comments

latest entry | archives | diaryland