Click Away
Go Fug Yourself
Dooce
Sac Rag
Ladies Choice
I Don't Like You In That Way
The Superficial
Anonymous Lawyer
Mimi Smartypants

Contact Me
plumwin at gmail dot com


previous | next

08.16.05

Ilivehere at 4:48 pm



Some days I just know I live in Sacramento. Really. There is a certain quirkiness that steams out of the baking sidewalks and into the brains of the citizens that I just can�t put my finger upon right this instant. Good things happened today because I live here but also some weirdness.

First I went to the best pizza joint around in my opinion. This place is so cool to go to for lunch because the darkness inside is out of control. Just when your eyes get adjusted and you�re satisfied and full, you walk out onto the sidewalk into the beating sun and just crumble.

On my way home, I stopped at the Safeway on Alhambra. I don�t care what anyone says, I love this Safeway. It�s my favorite. It�s right on my way home from work thus making it convenient on any given night and they always have lots of employees working so you never have to stand in line. Now I know some people wouldn�t pick this Safeway as their favorite due to the clientele but let me tell you that its much better than the scary neighborhood grocery store in Tahoe Park. Now that�s another whole story. But today�s Safeway experience was a little rough. I only needed to pick up a few things and no matter where I was in the store, I could hear someone whistling. The kind of whistling that makes your hair stand on end and your anxiety kick up a notch. Annoying. I kept looking around me but could never find the offender. When I got up to the check stand, lo and behold, it was hippie girl behind me buying her soymilk and one peach (I hate when people buy one piece of fruit, it�s a quirk) and she was the one whistling! And she just flat out continued. I could barely put my pin number in as she was standing 18 inches from the back of my head whistling at full volume. I tried to stare at her to make her stop but she was in another world. Some weird soy parallel universe I guess. My merlot and I were having none of it and as I grabbed my receipt and tried to scurry out, I heard the checker ask if she wanted to put her milk in a bag or in her backpack and she stopped whistling and said �yes�. Well, it wasn�t a yes or no answer obviously and it looked like they were going to be there awhile. I wouldn�t be surprised if the hippie whistler is still in Safeway right now trying to figure out how to have that damn milk packaged.

Next stop, my car. As I sauntered to my parking spot, I saw Joe Tattooed Crazy Guy trying to talk some woman into letting him load her groceries into her Mercedes. He had no shirt on, was obviously high, and was jumping around and making wild hand gestures. I, of course, pretended not to notice and unlocked my car. The Mercedes woman called over to me as she was putting her car away and asked if she was �supposed to tip the help in the parking lot�. Ha! I told her she was obviously not from here.

I saw this guy looking for a job and thought that I wouldn�t be surprised he were sitting four cubicles over from me right now. While I admire the drive to get out of a job you don�t like and find one you do, posting on Craigs list in the middle of the day isn�t going to get your any new employment.

I also saw this posting and thought, �Wow, this is so Sacramento mentality.� Not to be a bitch but really.

Who is she?"

Lastly, I�d like to say that I will no longer be linking to anything on kcra�s website due to their psychosis in regards to their new site design. Please. All the bells and whistles in the world aren�t going to make the news in Sacramento any more exciting. What you�ve done is create a pop up nightmare and downloading issue that makes the loading time too long for the quickie newsreader I am. The only reason this matters at all is because there really isn�t an alternative source. News 10 is�well, News 10. It�s lots of lipstick without a lot of substance. Oh, and I think Fox 40 is still on the air (I kid you) but that�s like a really bad local version of Entertainment Tonight. But with ugly reporters.

{0} Comments

latest entry | archives | diaryland