Click Away
Go Fug Yourself
Dooce
Sac Rag
Ladies Choice
I Don't Like You In That Way
The Superficial
Anonymous Lawyer
Mimi Smartypants

Contact Me
plumwin at gmail dot com


previous | next

10.31.05

limp, limp at 11:16 am



As of today, I am now referring to my husband as CL. This doesn�t stand for one thing but for many. I�m doing this to a. stop using the phrase �my husband� which is so pass� and b. to protect the innocent.

Saturday night we took the dog for a walk to the neighborhood pizza place to grab some dinner. This particular shopping center is fine by day but gets a bit sketchy at night. It isn�t the type of place you�d get shot or anything like that but it is a magnet for the �kids with nothing to do but cause trouble� crowd. With CL and our vicious dog with me I felt safe. While we waited outside for our pizza to be ready, a group of teenage fake gangsters started to round the corner directly into our path. I was startled at first but then noticed an oddity amongst the group. The one that was trying the hardest to look rough and all �fight ready� had an exaggerated limp. Upon further inspection I realized that he had cerebral palsy or something. So he limps by while pulling up his too loose pants that have almost fallen around his ankles. Mind you, he is still trying to look tough during this. I turned to CL and he turned to me. We exchanged a knowing smile. �That�s messed up,� he said. �Yeah, you can�t do handicapped gangster. It just isn�t cool,� I surmised. The next morning the Bee had a story of a missing �at risk� adult.

Snipped text:

RANCHO CORDOVA - A man with schizophrenia and cerebral palsy has been missing since Tuesday, his family said.
His sister-in-law, Lari Powell, said the family is worried about him with the weather turning cooler and rainy.
Powell was last seen wearing blue jeans, white tennis shoes and a black jacket, she said. He has blond hair, blue eyes, a goatee, and walks with a limp.
Family members said Powell takes medication for his schizophrenia and can be aggressive when approached, according to the statement.
I find the coincidence spooky. Could it have been the same person? If not, that means there were two really strange people with limps out on the loose on Saturday night. Thank god we�re smart enough to just stand aside and gawk and not approach. Thanks to the Bee for yet another nonsensical news item.

{1} Comments

latest entry | archives | diaryland