Click Away
Go Fug Yourself
Dooce
Sac Rag
Ladies Choice
I Don't Like You In That Way
The Superficial
Anonymous Lawyer
Mimi Smartypants

Contact Me
plumwin at gmail dot com


previous | next

2005-07-18

harrypottersucks at 2:56 p.m.

I hate Harry Potter. There, I've said it. I'm sorry to everyone who loves this whole glasses-wearing freak and his childish cohorts of psychosis, but I'm just not amused this time. A. has read the Harry Potter books so I obviously don't think badly upon those of you who like the whole thing (can you imagine the divorce papers on that one? I'd have to check the 'He read Harry Potter' box!) but after this weekend, I'm just sick of the hype. Here's the deal. The news is all Harry Potter, all last week. They wouldn't stop talking about it. The CNN crawl was like counting down the hours until it was released on Friday and people in London were still dying in hospitals and no one cared. A. called Borders and was put on a 'wait list' for the book promising that I'd have to see the piece of shit book in my own house in a few weeks. But only for a day. Cause A. reads fast. 600 pages? Couple hours. Saturday morning (mere hours after the release) I had to drag myself to Toys R Us to get my niece a birthday gift. As I wandered around trying to find the Sweet Streets Riding Stable (huh?) I noticed a brown fold out table like you'd have stored in your garage with a stack of Harry Potter books just sitting there. What? No signage, no big posters, no hideous glasses to try on and look like a mad, british scientist. I figured that they were stacks of the last edition? Or were they new? I waited around until I spotted a parent (because a parent would know these things!) and sure enough, this nice woman confirmed that, indeed, it was the new book. I bought the book, A. finished it that evening, and now it is gone from my sight. But wait, Sunday morning, while grocery shopping, there it was again. Beat up brown table, in the grocery store, stacked with books. Bottom line is that the publisher has a deal with the giant bookstores to create all this hype and make you wait in line or be on a waiting list when you can walk into any 'non' bookstore in town and just buy the piece of crap. I hope those glasses get shoved right up his ass in the final copy. I googled "Harry Potter Sucks" and almost blew my whole hard drive.


I have a new stats tracker. I've been trying to figure it out for weeks. I have so many 'odd' domains looking at my site at weird times. I have finally discovered that most of these BELONG to the stats tracker. They are visiting my site like every 15 minutes. This skews the totals now, doesn't it? Hello, stats tracker. You suck. But for now I don't want anythin shoved up your ass.


I joke about Sacramento being a hokey cowtown often but I think stories like this just flat out show the type of trash I'm dealing with on a daily basis.


Everyone is fat. Well, of course I only weigh 100lbs so I shouldn't be smug but..everyone is fat. I'm sick of hearing about it. I've seen two stories in the past week about giant fucking babies being born and I think it's a trend. It's scaring me.


You be the judge. Isn't she sly in her posting? I mean, who would have thought she didn't need a door fixed?



{0} Comments

latest entry | archives | diaryland